Lazy Lunches! Easy Low Carb Meal Ideas for Leftovers

I often have leftovers or purposefully make large batch meals that can be quickly reheated over the course of a few days. I love the convenience of it, but can’t stand eating the same exact meal three days in a row. To infuse variety, I always try to repurpose leftover ingredients in new ways or alternate how I serve leftover dishes. Below are some of my most recent and delicious low carb leftover creations. All are super quick and easy!

Lazy Lunch: Creamy Chicken Soup with a Crunchy Low Carb Cheese Quesadilla

Lazy Lunch: Creamy Chicken Soup with a Crunchy Low Carb Cheese Quesadilla

Leftover: Creamy chicken soup with the same egg-thickened broth and spaghetti squash as low carb Greek Avgolemeno soup. I changed up the recipe a bit by adding traditional chicken soup ingredients like carrots, celery, onion and oregano, and using a little less lemon juice in the broth. Also, I added roughly chopped steamed eggs, which were delicious!

Lazy Lunch: I left out the spaghetti squash and opted for a crispy low carb cheese quesadilla instead. (I was able to omit the spaghetti squash because I never mix it into the large batch of soup for fear of it becoming soggy after a few days. Instead, I put some into each person’s bowl and pour the soup over it.). For dipping and some addictive crunchy texture (-that I miss so much while eating low carb!), I sprinkled grated sharp cheddar and oregano on Mission Carb Balance burrito-size tortillas and fried them to crispy, crunchy perfection in an oil-misted pan on high heat.

Lazy Lunch: Linguiça and Bacon over Fresh Greens Salad

Lazy Lunch: Linguiça and Bacon over Fresh Greens Salad

Leftover: I love frying up thinly sliced Linguiça with breakfast. It’s a spiced Portuguese pork sausage similar to chorizo, but without the cinnamon flavor many Mexican chorizos have. I’d had it with my eggs for breakfast for a couple days in a row and wanted to use the little I had left for a low carb lunch instead. I also had a small piece of English cucumber in my fridge that needed to be used within a day or two.

Lazy Lunch: I fried the linguiça with shallots, red and green bell peppers and garlic. Meanwhile, I prepared a few strips of bacon and crumbled them. I served all the warm ingredients atop a salad of fresh butter lettuce, chopped English cucumber and cheddar cheese tossed in Italian dressing that I whisked a little dijon mustard into. For extra crunch, I topped it all with a couple tablespoons of crispy salad topper jalapenos and onions. For a lower carb version, simply skip the crunchy toppers. It’s still nice and crunchy with the cucumbers and bacon crumbles!

Lazy Lunch: Pulled Pork Breakfast Nest with Bacon, Cabbage and Eggs

Lazy Lunch: Pulled Pork Breakfast Nest with Bacon Cabbage and Eggs

Leftover: Slow cooker pulled pork.

Lazy Lunch: This is a perfect weekend brunch for anyone who’s slept past breakfast time or loves breakfast at any time of day. In this quick and easy low carb meal, I created a pulled pork breakfast nest by layering raw, shredded cabbage, slow cooker pulled pork and two eggs over medium. And as you can see, I couldn’t resist pairing it with a side of crispy bacon. I tell you, you haven’t lived until you’ve had creamy egg yolk coat your pulled pork.

Lazy Lunch: Pulled Pork with Apple, Cheddar & Jalapeño Quinoa Salad

Lazy Lunch: Pulled Pork with Apple, Cheddar & Jalapeño Quinoa Salad

Leftover: Slow cooker pulled pork and an extra jalapeño from chili I made a few days before.

Lazy Lunch: I served the juicy pulled pork bare with stone ground mustard and a vibrant quinoa salad I’ve been making a version of for years. For the salad, I simply mixed diced Granny Smith apple and jalapeño with cheddar cheese and a little quinoa cooked in chicken broth. I have also made this salad with chipotle and a pinch of cinnamon replacing the cheddar. Both are equally delicious and perfect served at room temperature or chilled. I originally made a white rice version of this to pair with cinnamon-chipotle spiced pork loin in the days before I went low carb. While quinoa isn’t for those severely restricting carbs, for me, it’s an excellent rice replacement when eaten once in a while and in moderation.

That’s it for this edition of Lazy Lunches! No doubt I’ll have more low carb leftover meal ideas to post in the future.

One thought on “Lazy Lunches! Easy Low Carb Meal Ideas for Leftovers

  1. Pingback: Low Carb Linguica & Peppers Breakfast Nest | The Sbeissy Life

Leave a Reply

