Shrimp & Avocado Pico de Gallo

When faced with the task of providing an appetizer for the New Year’s Eve bash I was invited to, I knew I had to be creative. Appetizers are my thing, but I have only ever made them for events in my own home where my fully loaded kitchen was in my arsenal. I didn’t know if an oven would be available, realized the dish would need to stay fresh and at a safe temperature for several hours, and wanted to make something elegant yet festive for this semi-formal gathering. After a lot of mental debate, I finally decided on this delicious, elevated version of Pico de Gallo.

Shrimp & Avocado Pico de Gallo

Shrimp & Avocado Pico de Gallo

If you love ceviche, you’ll love this stuff! To make it yourself, mix diced Roma tomatoes and white onion with finely diced (seeded) jalapenos and cilantro. Add salt to taste and a few squeezes of fresh lime juice and a teaspoon or two of finely diced garlic. Stir in chopped, fully cooked shrimp, and refrigerate overnight for flavors to develop. Just before serving, fold in salted, chopped avocado drizzled with lime juice. Also, this salsa is pretty mild, so if you want a little extra kick, try adding a dash of cayenne pepper (I loved it with the cayenne!). In an airtight container, this dip stays fresh for a few days.

I served this with tortilla chips on New Year’s Eve, but for a more carb conscious feast, try it with Beanitos. They’re absolutely delicious chips made from beans instead of corn, and can be found at many health/specialty markets.

Leave a Reply

