Beef Shakshuka with Feta & Cilantro (Low Carb!)

Beef Shakshuka with Feta

Beef Shakshuka with Feta

As much as I swoon for my almost-daily low carb bacon and eggs breakfast, I decided to shake things up today with a zesty Middle Eastern brunch called Shakshuka. It struck me around 11:30 that I might have everything I would need to make the low carb Shakshuka recipe I had my eye on for weeks. After a snappy frisk of my fridge and pantry, I dug out my large skillet and got chopping!

Shakshuka Prep: Sauteing Beef, Onion and Bell Pepper

Shakshuka Prep: Sauteing Beef, Onion and Bell Pepper

I was inspired by the Shakshuka recipe on ToriAvey.com, but modified the recipe quite a bit to make it more satisfying without the pita or crusty bread it is traditionally served with. I added seasoned ground beef and omitted the tomato paste for more of a chunky, bean-free chili texture than a saucy, soupy one. Also, I left out the chili powder (because it would have seemed too much like a Mexican chili if I hadn’t – and that wasn’t what I was going for), used celery salt, smoked paprika and dried cilantro, and melted crumbled feta cheese over the top.

Shakshuka Prep: Simmering the Beef, Onion, Bell Pepper, Tomato and Seasonings

Shakshuka Prep: Simmering the Beef, Onion, Bell Pepper, Tomato and Seasonings

I cannot even put into words how flat out amazing the hearty Beef Shakshuka turned out to be. It was the perfect low carb brunch with the over-the-top flavorful blend of spicy, savory and tangy flavors. I am definitely going to make this again, and soon!

Beef Shakshuka with Feta and Cilantro

Beef Shakshuka with Feta and Cilantro

Tip 1: Fry the ground beef in the skillet for a few minutes before adding the onion and bell pepper.

Tip 2: Try it with a low carb tortilla (Like the Mission brand ones we had) that only have 3 to 6 net carbs.

Leave a Reply

