Salmon BLT Salad with Lemon Dill Vinaigrette (Low Carb!)

Salmon are a big deal here in Washington, especially when they run through our rivers and streams for mating during late summer and early fall. I’ve done quite a bit of fishing this year, and even made my own special little lures to try and land the big one. It was amazing to be out on the gorgeous Nisqually River and see sport fisherman wrestling these massive, powerful 30 and 40 pound Coho and King salmon to shore. I wasn’t lucky enough to snag a legal one, but that didn’t stop me from picking up some beautiful pink salmon fillets from the market and scouring the web for a tasty new low carb recipe to try.

Dinner is Served! Salmon BLT Salad with Lemon Dill Vinaigrette

Dinner is Served! Salmon BLT Salad with Lemon Dill Vinaigrette

When I saw the jaw-dropping, mouthwatering Salmon BLT Stacks post over at BarbellsandBelinis.com, I knew it was my kind of dish! Salmon… and bacon? Sign me up! I also love how she used arugula – the perfect flavor accompaniment for the rich proteins and lemony zest of the dish. I made a few small tweaks to recreate it, and the result was buttery, crunchy, savory tastebud heaven!

Pike Place Fish Northwest Seafood  Seasoning

Pike Place Fish Northwest Seafood Seasoning

I recently discovered this great seafood seasoning blend from Pike Place Fish and used it to prepare my salmon. I also crumbled the bacon, diced the (Roma) tomatoes, and substituted dill for the capers in the lemon vinaigrette. Since I was going for more of a salad than a “stack” (which I interpreted as a fork-and-knife bread-free sandwich presentation), I drizzled extra vinaigrette on the arugula and topped it all with roasted, peppered almond slices to add even more flavor and a wonderful crunchy texture.

Salmon BLT Salad with Lemon Dill Vinaigrette

Salmon BLT Salad with Lemon Dill Vinaigrette

It was sooooo good! This is definitely one to save in the recipe book.

Leave a Reply

